Frustraded With PWD and Need Help

Debates and discussions on the various race scheduling methods that can be used and their fairness and accuracy in determining the winners.
peiss
Apprentice
Apprentice

Frustraded With PWD and Need Help

Post by peiss »

I am new to scouting although i was a scout as a boy. this year was my son's first PWD and he and i spent about an hour or two on his car every day. Although i am frustrated about the results and scheduling of the day, i will always remember building that car with him.

Let me list my frustrations.
1) It is so well known in our pack that two brothers are going to win first and second, that many boys do not even bother trying to build a car because the race is so focused on who is going to win (yep you guessed it, the brothers father is a big part of the day.)

2) almost 50% of our boys raced three races and then they were done. My son came in third place three times and even though he was eliminated from the second round, he almost made it. At 6, he is not able to understand how well he did for having a dad who made sure his 6 year old actually built his car. All he saw was that he finished last 3 times and was out.

3)We had some major problems with the software and one of the timing eyes did not pick up two cars on two separate races. At first we were told to just keep going, but when the results came back for who was going to the second round, (and those results were shown through a projector on the wall), we had to go to manual scoring because one of those boys whose cars time did not register was one of the boys who came in first or second in the end.