Bore damage from Pro-Hub tool?

Secrets, tips, tools, design considerations, materials, the "science" behind it all, and other topics related to building the cars and semi-trucks.
beachnut
Journeyman
Journeyman

Bore damage from Pro-Hub tool?

Post by beachnut »

I recently purchased a nice 10x jeweler's loupe and let me tell you, my eyes were opened ... literally! I've been using the Pro-Hub tool for the past two years without a thought to correct the raised edge you sometimes find on the inner hub and to cone the hubs. Prior to getting the loupe I had prepped a new set of #12's to use on the car. As I was coning the hubs I noticed that the pin on the tool was very hard to get into the bore. Now I know that #12's have a smaller bore so I very slowly twisted it in and noticed spiral shavings coming out the other side of the bore. I thought to myself that this couldn't be good so I bought the loupe. WOW ... serious damage!

So, I conducted a little experiment to determine how I'm damaging the bores like that (although I pretty much already knew). I have lot of #9 fodder wheels in my grab bag so I sacrificed them to the cause. I thought that maybe the Pro-Wheel mandrel could be contributing to this issue, so I sanded one of them down on my drill press like I usually do. The before/after check with the loupe showed no bore damage. Then I went to use either pin on the hub tool and voila ... damage. Of course I knew it was causing damage since, again, the pins on either end were very difficult to insert into the hub.

Is anyone else having the same issue with this tool and can report the same bore damage?
sporty
Pine Head Legend
Pine Head Legend

Re: Bore damage from Pro-Hub tool?

Post by sporty »

From my understanding of the tool.

Is that if the tool dose not go into the wheel bore easily, then the wheel or wheels are not recommended to be used.

Naturally forcing into the wheel bore, is going to creat wheel bore damage.