How long do your wheels spin?

Secrets, tips, tools, design considerations, materials, the "science" behind it all, and other topics related to building the cars and semi-trucks.
BattleBorn
Apprentice
Apprentice

How long do your wheels spin?

Post by BattleBorn »

I'm new to the pinewood derby so I've been watching some how to videos. I was able to polish some axles and they look and feel extremely smooth, true mirror finish. However, no matter how much graphite I put on them I can't get them to spin for the ~20s which I've seen called out in a few of the videos. The best I can do is about 12 seconds. I didn't polish the inside of the hub but visually they look extremely smooth, could that be it?

Another question I have is how do you get the graphite to stick to the axles? I put it on the there and it just seems to fall right off, I've washed everything with soap and water so they're very clean but I can't get the graphite to stay on them. I was wondering if that also might have something to do with it?
Speedster
Pine Head Legend
Pine Head Legend

Re: How long do your wheels spin?

Post by Speedster »