Amount of drift vs. dfw weight.

Secrets, tips, tools, design considerations, materials, the "science" behind it all, and other topics related to building the cars and semi-trucks.
AaronS
Journeyman
Journeyman

Post by AaronS »

:thinking: Hi. I'm new to Derby Talk. My daughter's car is set up for 3 wheel rail riding with a total weight of 143.1 grams or 5.046 oz. There is 2.5 deg cant in the rear wheels with no toe in or out and a weight of 128.8grams. The dfw has a 1.5 deg cant with no toe in or out and a weight of 14.3grams. Inner wheel edge and hub are both burnished with Hob-E-Lube. The drift is set for 4.5in within 4ft. Is that a correct drift for how light the front is?
whodathunkit
Pine Head Legend
Pine Head Legend

Re: Amount of drift vs. dfw weight.

Post by whodathunkit »

Hi AaronS and :welcome:
AaronS wrote: Fri Mar 02, 2018 6:35 pm with a total weight of 143.1 grams or 5.046 oz.
Is that right? 143.1 grams at 5.046 ( I could be wrong..) to me it seems like that number should be around 5.04770395) however 5.046 is close.

Do you know the track type the car will be raced on .. how long of track or if it's wood or aluminum ?
That will help member's here on Derby Talk .. Your drift angle sounds good to me.. as some say 3 to 3/12 in 4' ..The some will say 5" in 8' as well.

Hold tight as more will chime in with drift angles to help you out.
What type of automobile can be spelled the same forwards & backwards?
AaronS
Journeyman
Journeyman

Post by AaronS »

Yes, your 5.0477 is more accurate. The track is a Best Aluminum track. There were a few seems visibly offset but not bad. Her time was a 3.03ish on what may have been 42' track. I have made a few corrections like alignment correction in rear and no toe in for rear wheel behind dfw. Also moved 2.3g of weight to rear minus materials in front of car.
Speedster
Pine Head Legend
Pine Head Legend

Post by Speedster »

Howdy, Fellow Buckeye. Welcome to Derbytalk.