Weighting and center of gravity on a short track vs. longer

General discussions for car and semi-truck racers.
Ignacious
Apprentice
Apprentice

Weighting and center of gravity on a short track vs. longer

Post by Ignacious »

Greetings, this is my first posting so bear with me. I am relatively new to pinewood. This is my third year with my oldest son and first with my youngest. Call it beginners luck but we managed to win Fastest of the Pack for a fairly large and fairly competitive rural pack, right out of the gate against more experienced racers, for the last two years in a row. Now we want to move up to the annual district race. I have already researched some differences. They use a wooden center rail track and our pack uses a plastic track with no center rail. I've been told the district track is considerably shorter than the one our pack uses. I have been told ours is roughly 40' but I'm not sure and that the district track is roughly 32'. You folks would have a better idea as to the accuracy of these guestimates.

The question I have is that given the difference in track length, do I need to adjust the weight and COG to reflect these changes? Currently we use a 3/4" COG. I have been told by people who have raced district that the cars that win at the district short track would not win on ours because they would slow down before the finish. The same for our cars on the district track. A short track diminishes the "speed up effect" when hitting the flat part with an aggressively weighted car. Personally I think this is hogwash and maybe sour grapes among some who did well at pack level but not at district level. If the car is fast on a 40' track, there is absolutely no reason it should not be just as fast on a 32' track given that once you hit the flat you start decelerating regardless of where your weight is placed. I am no math or engineering genius, this just seems like common sense. But I defer to your wisdom in this arena.

Thanks.
Stan Pope