What is your “real job”?

Topics not relating to derbies, regattas or cubmobile races.
ah8tk
Master Pine Head
Master Pine Head

What is your “real job”?

Post by ah8tk »

I know a lot here are involved in scouting, Awana, etc.. My original inquiry was to ask Stan what he did for a “real job”, you know the one that allows you to spend your “extra” money and time on Pinewood Derby. But I decided this would be interesting question to post to all members of DerbyTalk.

For me my job is in the telecommunications industry (my title is “telecommunications administrator”, that is a long title) for a utility. I basically deal with phone (including cellular phones) and voice mail adds moves and changes and 800 number routing. It gives me some of the tools I use for Pinewood Derby (Visio to design cars). Not a real glamorous job but it pays the bills.
Pinewood Daddy
Pine Head Legend
Pine Head Legend

Re: What is your “real job”?

Post by Pinewood Daddy »

I'm a Tool Designer for a large architectural hardware (mostly locks) company. That experience allows me to redesign existing PWD tools or create new ones. Having a Tool Room or outside vendors to build them for free is an added bonus! :mrgreen:
TAL
Master Pine Head
Master Pine Head

Post by TAL »

I work in a little town about 4 miles by 4 miles square and I make daily travels on the streets to make sure all road kill (never know what's for lunch tommorrow :lol: ) , trash and debri are out of visual site . During the spring, summer and fall months I also keep the grass mowed around town, streets , and town properties.

Find lots of tools and about anything you can think of sometime, even money; YEA! :D

I can honestly say, The town is a neat, clean little town if I must say so myself.

What I really love most about my job is the hours, 7am to 3:30 pm Mon-Fri. That gives me plenty of time for activities like Pinewood derby, Slotcars, and R/C's and plenty of time with my 10 year old daughter.
gpraceman
Site Admin
Site Admin