Cover the car with Plastic

General topics of interest to racers and race coordinators alike.
Speedster
Pine Head Legend
Pine Head Legend

Cover the car with Plastic

Post by Speedster »

There is a Revell car kit that has a thin plastic piece that is a car body. The plastic is already in color so it doesn't even need painting. The directions explain how to cut the block and then glue the cover onto the block. I suspect it could be held on the block with double face tape. I'm not so sure a wafer car could not be built and glue this onto the wood for appearance. I studied our fairly restrictive rules and if the scout tells me he used the piece of plastic to bring the car up to weight I can't see how his car would not be legal. I'm smiling as I'm writing this. What will they think of next?
FatSebastian
Pine Head Legend
Pine Head Legend

Re: Cover the car with Plastic

Post by FatSebastian »

Speedster wrote:There is a Revell car kit that has a thin plastic piece that is a car body.
The EZ Body accessory?
Speedster
Pine Head Legend
Pine Head Legend

Post by Speedster »

Yep. That looks like it.
whodathunkit
Pine Head Legend
Pine Head Legend

Post by whodathunkit »

Speedster wrote: What will they think of next?
A Door Slammer Class for kids. :mrgreen:
What type of automobile can be spelled the same forwards & backwards?
Vitamin K
Pine Head Legend
Pine Head Legend

Post by Vitamin K »

This is similar to how I plan to help my kids build cars for this year's Derby season. Wafer car base with a hollow CA-glue-reinforced balsa shell for looks.
Nitro Dan
Master Pine Head
Master Pine Head

Post by Nitro Dan »

Vitamin K wrote:This is similar to how I plan to help my kids build cars for this year's Derby season. Wafer car base with a hollow CA-glue-reinforced balsa shell for looks.