Basic Electronic Assistance Requested - Start Tree

Drag racing style light trees
rfryar
Apprentice
Apprentice

Basic Electronic Assistance Requested - Start Tree

Post by rfryar »

Hello, I am new to this forum and it has been a good resource for parts, etc.

I have started making my own start tree based off a 555 Timer and a 8021 Decay Counter. I have it prototyped out using leds and a "remote" that also contains leds.

My problem is that I want to replace the leds on the "control" box with larger lights. So I searched and found a really cheap 8 channel relay circuit:
http://arduino-direct.com/sunshop/index ... tail&p=156

However I am having a bit of trouble. The relay circuit triggers on LOW and the 8021 outputs are always low. They switch to high and the LEDs light up. However I am a electronic novice and do not know the best approach to "block" the LOW so that only when HIGH will the relay trigger on.

You can see the prototype video here:

https://youtu.be/xleBIYmQz-U

I am sure it is something simple, but I am pulling my hair out currently.

Thanks,

Rick
Stan Pope
Pine Head Legend
Pine Head Legend

Re: Basic Electronic Assistance Requested - Start Tree

Post by Stan Pope »

The function you are looking for is "invertor". IIRC, they come in IC's @ 6 per 14 pin IC. You can perform the same function with a NOR or NAND gate IC which typically come as 4 per. So that would be 2 Hex Invertors or 2 Quad NOR or 2 Quad NAND IC's. (If you use NOR or NAND gates, look at the truth table to tell how to hold the 2nd input to each gate so that it functions as an invertor... it's been too many years for me to remember!)
Stan
"If it's not for the boys, it's for the birds!"
rfryar
Apprentice
Apprentice

Post by rfryar »

Stan Pope wrote:The function you are looking for is "invertor".
Thanks, I have an invertor on order from Mouser. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction, will update this when I get the parts and if I get everything working!

Rick
dna1990