Seating in a public venue

Discussions on race planning, preparations and how to run a "fair" and fun race.
jbofkc
Pine Head
Pine Head

Seating in a public venue

Post by jbofkc »

For those that hold their Pack or District races in a public setting ie - mall or business. What type of arrangements do you make to provide seating? Our district race is being held at a Bass Pro Shop and have about 70 cars registered. We might have 150-200 people attend.

We want to spice up the venue to give folks something to occupy their time during the inspection period and to make it more exciting. I am a rookie district coordinator and that was one of the complaints from previous years - as recounted to me. The past venue, which were church fellowship halls, were boring and there was nothing to do while the cars were inspected.

The Bass Pro folks are clearing out the boat showroon area. We will have about 50 chairs, but space is limited. What is your experience?
Eagle Scout
"With God all things are possible!"
davem
Master Pine Head
Master Pine Head

Re: Seating in a public venue

Post by davem »

We like to show the "Down and Derby" movie if you have a sound system / projector / DVD player that can be used at the venue.
Pinewood Daddy
Pine Head Legend
Pine Head Legend

Post by Pinewood Daddy »

davem wrote:We like to show the "Down and Derby" movie if you have a sound system / projector / DVD player that can be used at the venue.
That movie is a little risqué (Big Jimmies wife) and un-scout like (stealing the "Fluke") in spots. We showed it once at a Pack meeting and got a few comments. It did hold the kids attention though.
Stan Pope
Pine Head Legend
Pine Head Legend

Post by Stan Pope »