Timer Problems impact fairness of District Race

Discussions on race planning, preparations and how to run a "fair" and fun race.
birddog
Master Pine Head
Master Pine Head

Timer Problems impact fairness of District Race

Post by birddog »

Folks-

My son joined Tiger Scouts this year, so this is my first year participating in Scouts since I was a kid. We had a wonderful time working together on our PWD car this year and are already looking forward to next year.

I've volunteered to be the race coordinator for our Pack race for the next 4 years while my son is in Cub scouts.

We did very well at our Pack race. Took first place. Our times were very consistent across all the races (within about 0.03 seconds or so).

At the district races, I was video taping much of the action when my son's car was running, so I didn't get to pay attention to all the times. I do know his first time was one of the top 3 or 4 times of all the cars. He won all 4 of his "heat" races, but I noticed at least one of his times was different by a full 0.2 seconds. This happened to every other car in that heat as well.

I mentioned the problem to the race officials and they said they were aware of the timer problems and would manually scan the data looking for problems and re-run any heats that needed re-running.

Unfortunately, although a couple heats were re run at the end, none of the heats my son ran in were re-run as they should have been.

This caused him to place in 31st place as opposed to 3rd or 4th place where he probably should have been. He knows nothing about this, I've just told him that he raced slower cars in his heats and didn't get a chance to go head to head with any fast cars.