Should a Cub Scout win two trophies?

Discussions on race planning, preparations and how to run a "fair" and fun race.
JSG
Master Pine Head
Master Pine Head

Should a Cub Scout win two trophies?

Post by JSG »

As a pack we're considering limiting Cubs to one trophy at next years derby. The plus side is that more boys will walk away with a trophy which is a pretty big deal to the boys. The downside is that some of the boys who are awarded a first place in their den really didn't finish first and hopefully the fastest boy in the den who went on to get a trophy in the finals doesn't say anything negative to the boy who is awarded first in the den race. I've been pushing for 3rd place den trophies for 3 years now too. Hopefully if I can get those, even more boys will get trophies. Any thoughts?
FatSebastian
Pine Head Legend
Pine Head Legend

Re: Should a Cub Scout win two trophies?

Post by FatSebastian »

JSG wrote:The downside is that some of the boys who are awarded a first place in their den really didn't finish first...
This issue has been raised before and thus your concern is not alone.

There are implied qualifications with all such awards; a car could very well finish second and yet come away with "first place" if the faster car was later disqualified. To address the conundrum, one might do well to consider "first place" within a den as an award like gold, silver, and bronze, rather than a official testament of a specific "finish order". (A trophy awarded in finals could just as well be categorized as having earned "zeroth place" for his den, as "zero" comes before one. ;) )