Pinewood Derby Car Weight

Discussions on race planning, preparations and how to run a "fair" and fun race.
kstevens67
Apprentice
Apprentice

Pinewood Derby Car Weight

Post by kstevens67 »

Hi all,

I am absolutely horrible at building anything and have had two nightmare races so far with my son. I want him to do well in his race, but I also want him to finish the race as the last two years he didn't (my fault). I am hoping that the third year is the charm as they say. We have his car built and it currently is weighing in at 4.9 ounces (on our scale). I am terrified that the scale they use may be .2 ounces off throwing us into the over weight category. I am considering removing .1 ounce of weights so the car weighs at 4.8 ounces giving us some leeway. I'm not going to be able to get to the weights after the wheels are put on (I know, I'm not good at this). I have heard that cars that weigh 5 ounces are going to win. Is there really much difference between 4.8 and 5 ounces?

I obviously want him to win, but I will be devastated if he cannot race at all due to my stupidity think that 4.9 ounces is good. I'm not so sure I trust other scales.
gpraceman
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Pinewood Derby Car Weight

Post by gpraceman »

What type of scale do you have? If it is a digital scale, I could see having a 0.1 ounce difference to the check-in scale, but likely not a 0.2 ounce difference.
Randy Lisano
Romans 5:8

Awana Grand Prix and Pinewood Derby racing - Where a child, an adult and a small block of wood combine for a lot of fun and memories.
kstevens67
Apprentice
Apprentice

Post by kstevens67 »

We have a digital scale. If I remember, they use a digital at the race also.
Vitamin K
Pine Head Legend
Pine Head Legend

Post by Vitamin K »

Two options:

1) Go at 5oz, and if you're overweight at the weigh-in, take off a little weight. You can bring a cordless drill and drill a little wood out of the bottom, for example. Doesn't take much to lose 0.1 ounces.