Best Track Alignment issues

Commercial tracks.
rkibby
Pine Head
Pine Head

Best Track Alignment issues

Post by rkibby »

Track is 3 years old, and what I would consider very abused. The pack stored it in the rafters of the shed outside of the church. Which seems to show signs for no care for the ends of the track. This is my first year for taking over the Packs racing. I'm having some issues with alignment, and more that its not a smooth transition. Lane #2, first section after the curve, the lane is bowed up. How the heck do you get that bow out? Is it ok to put dowel pins where the guide rails meet? Right now I'm using 2 per lane, it's a 4 lane track.

Pics below. If you need a different angle or anything please let me know. I need all the help I can get with getting this fixed.

Left side of lane #2
Right side of lane #2

Close up of Right side of lane #2

whole lane #2

Trying to show how the track isn't flat.
Pinewood Po
Journeyman
Journeyman

Re: Best Track Alignment issues

Post by Pinewood Po »

Hopefully someone that has had to deal with this before has the answer. I don't have a clue how these tracks go together but as someone that works with metal everyday I can tell you warped metal is hard to bend back perfectly. I'm guessing the best you can do is to bend it as close as possible making sure the "down the road" part of the track is not sticking up anywhere. Even if that means part of it is lower, I would guess driving off a slight dropoff would affect times less than hitting a bump.
It appears the high point is the top of the rib in picture 2. I'd start with applying some pressure on the top of that rib and see if that gained anything. You will have to push it past level because it will spring back. Proceed with care!!!!! It will probably bend easier than you think.
kevinrevin
Apprentice
Apprentice

Post by kevinrevin »